Marvel Cinematic Universe Timeline

Marvel Cinematic Universe Timeline


The Cinematic Universe of Marvel has been appreciated worldwide with the representation of some of the blockbuster movies which include, Avengers: Infinity War, Guardians of the Galaxy and Captain Marvel. One thing that is to be remembered about these movies is their interlinking with each other. Each carries actions and stunts which have references to the other.

If you are a true fan of all the Marvel movies than you can better understand the chemistry of these movies, however, if you haven’t watched these movies than it is better to have an understanding of Marvel’s previous movies to get in touch with the new ones.

In order to get a clear understanding of MCU, you should probably watch these movies in their releasing order, starting from Iron Man and moving onto The Incredible Hulk, then Iron Man 2, Captain America: The First Avenger, Thor, and Avengers.

By following this method, you can probably figure out the past scenes and actions. What actually these characters possess and what are their hidden abilities and talents. This would also help you initializing the intended rhythm of all the series which have been produced by Kevin feign.

Here below, I have short listed those movies by MCU that are worth watching. The chronological order of these movies is as described.

Phase One

Captain America: The First Avenger (1943 – 1945)

Agent Carter (seasons one and two)

Agent Carter (one-shot — Iron Man 3 DVD)

Captain Marvel (1995)

Iron Man (2010)

Iron Man 2 (2011)

The Incredible Hulk (2011)

The Consultant (one-shot — Thor DVD)

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Thor’s Hammer (one-shot — Captain America: First Avenger DVD)

Thor (2011)

Avengers (2012)

Item 47 (one-shot — Avengers DVD)


Phase Two

Then we have Phase two where you have these following movies,

Iron Man 3 (2012)

All Hail the King (one-shot – Thor: The Dark World)

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2014)

Daredevil (season one)

Ant-Man (2015)

Jessica Jones (season one)

Daredevil (season two)


Phase Three

Phase Three includes these movies,

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Luke Cage (season one)

Iron Fist (season one)

The Defenders (season one)

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016)

Doctor Strange (2016 – 2017)

The Punisher (season one)

Runaways (season one)

Black Panther (2017)

Cloak and Dagger (season one)

Jessica Jones (season two)

Inhumans (season one)

Luke Cage (season two)

Iron Fist (season two)

Daredevil (season 3)

Runaways (season 2)

The Punisher (season 2)

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Ant-Man and The Wasp (2017)

Avengers Infinity War (2017)

Avengers: Endgame (2019)


It is pertinent to note that ‘Phase Three’ almost marks all of the best MCU movies. This is certainly the best way of understanding the connectivity of Marvel movies.

However, the best is yet to come. Some of the upcoming Marvel movies are Spider-Man: Far From Home, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, The EternalsDoctor Strange 2Jessica Jones season three, and New Warriors season one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *