1992 World Cup

PM Imran Khan & Wasim Akram headlining Cricinfo’s Unequalled World Cup XI


ESPN-crickinfo, the cricket publication, directed a survey amongst their staff to determine their consensus regarding the unequalled World Cup XI.

According to the publication just Wasim Akram’s name featured on each of the 22 lists.

Do You Still Miss 1992 World Cup?

The ex left-arm pacer’s courageous game he played during the 1992 Cricket World Cup probably earned him this acknowledgment.

During this match he dismissed Allan Lamb & Chris Lewis consecutively!

Prime Minister Khan, who captained the Cornered Tigers, including Akram, was chosen to lead the superb line-up.

India’s representative listed is Sachin Tendulkar, the master blaster.

Australia, the defending champions (5 times) have the majority members listed. The following great cricketers were selected on merit: Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne.

Two players, Lance Klusener, South Africa and Kumar Sangakkara, Sri Lanka, represent the only players been chosen, although they never won the World Cup.

However, although Sri Lanka won the tournament during 1996,  Sangakkara only debuted in 2000.

Muttiah Muralitharan, another islander, an excellent spinner, is listed as he played during the World Cup Tournament in 1996.

Vivian Richards, a West Indian poses to be the sole player from the non coloured gear era. He played brilliantly in the finals of two World Cup tournaments.

During 1975, Richards run out 3 English batsmen, whilst achieving a marvelous century in 1979!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *