Imran captains Cricinfo’s all-time World Cup XI


Islamabad: Just a month ahead of the cricket World Cup, ESPN Cricinfo has released their all-time World Cup XI which is captained by Imran Khan. The team also features Wasim Akram.

Prime Minister Imran Khan, who was the captain of Pakistan champion team during 1992, has been picked up again to lead the star-studded line-up.

Wasim Akram has earned himself a name during the 1992 World Cup. His famous back-to-back dismissals of Allan Lamb and Chris Lewis are appreciated all over the world.

Meanwhile, India only has a single representative who is being selected in the list in the form of Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar.

While most of the representatives are from the Australia team. And each one of Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Shane Warne, and Glenn McGrath fully merit their selection.

The only two players who have been picked despite never being the world champions are Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara and South Africa’s Lance Klusenar. The only player from the non-colored-kit era to make the list is West Indian Vivian Richards, who famously starred in two World Cup finals: running-out three English batsmen in 1975 and smashing a century four years later.

ESPN Cricinfo’s all-time World Cup XI squad:

  • Adam Gilchrist (wk)
  • Sachin Tendulkar
  • Ricky Ponting
  • Viv Richards
  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Imran Khan (c)
  • Lance Klusener
  • Wasim Akram
  • Shane Warne
  • Muttiah Muralitharan
  • Glenn McGrath

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *