All-rounder Ben Cutting’s wicket in the 11th over of the Quetta Gladiators innings against Peshawar Zalmi proved to be turning point of the match on Thursday, as the Sarfaraz-led side fell short of the target by 30 runs.
Cutting was on 17 when he caught by Liam Livingstone on the bowling of Zalmi skipper Wahab Riaz. But the on-field umpires decided to consult the third umpire before sending Cutting back to the dressing room, as they suspected that Riaz might have overstepped the line.
However, after going through several replays of the delivery, the third umpire was convinced that Riaz’s foot was behind the line and therefore the all-rounder was adjudged out.
However, it turns out that the blunder might have cost Gladiators a game as the replay that was shown to the third umpire might have been from different delivery.
The mistake was caught by fans on Twitter, who uploaded screenshots of the side-on and stump camera replays. While Mohammad Nawaz can be seen at the non-striker’s end in the side-on replay, but when you notice the stump camera replay, you can see Cutting standing at the non-striker’s end. It remains unclear as to whether the delivery in question was a no-ball or not.
Worse blunder by media team.while checking no ball of cutting dismissal they played the delivery on which ahmed shehzad got out. pic.twitter.com/LNW15rTcg2
— Abdul (@ALAM_ABDULA) March 5, 2020