“The Test Squad for Pakistan’s Tour of Australia Unveiled, Comprising 18 Members.”

Chief selector Wahab Riaz has revealed Pakistan’s 18-member Test squad for the upcoming Australia tour, marking his inaugural role. Shan Masood takes over the Test captaincy from Babar Azam.

Newcomer Saim Ayub, an impressive left-handed opening batter, earns his spot after a stellar performance in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, accumulating 553 runs with three centuries. Khurram Shahzad, a right-arm fast bowler, secures his first Test call-up following an outstanding domestic season, finishing as the highest wicket-taker in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Pace bowling all-rounder Faheem Ashraf returns to the squad after his last Test appearance during England’s tour in late 2022. Additionally, fast bowlers Mir Hamza and Mohammad Wasim Jnr make a comeback after featuring in Pakistan’s squad during New Zealand’s tour in 2022-23.

Wahab Riaz, the chief selector, emphasizes the squad’s focus on addressing the challenges of Australian conditions and augmenting pace bowling resources. The squad assembles in Rawalpindi on November 22 for a training camp before departing on November 30, aiming to build on the team’s success in the ICC World Test Championship and maintain momentum in Australia. The strategic inclusion of promising players like Saim Ayub reflects an emphasis on bolstering the team’s batting lineup and adapting to diverse conditions.

Pakistan Test Squad against Australia:

  • Shan Masood (C)
  • Aamir Jamal
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Abrar Ahmed
  • Babar Azam
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Hassan Ali
  • Imam-ul-haq
  • Khurram Shahzad
  • Mir Hamza
  • Muhammad Rizwan (WK)
  • Muhammad Wasim Jnr
  • Noman Ali
  • Saim Ayub
  • Salman Ali Agha
  • Sarfaraz Ahmed (WK)
  • Saud Shakeel
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *